Did you ever wish Atari made a sequel to their hit game “Adventure”? Well, you’re in luck because they did. Sort of. “Adventure II,” as it was originally known, was intended to be similar to the earlier Adventure, only much grander in scale. In fact, the project became so enormous, they decided to break it up into four separate games. These games came to be known collectively as the “SwordQuest” series.

Each game would take the theme and name of its elemental counterpart: Earthworld, Fireworld, Waterworld, and Airworld. To sweeten the deal, Atari promoted a national contest to award valuable prizes to contestants who could solve each of the games by deciphering a series of clues. The clues would be found in comic books included with the games.

The winners from each competition would receive the following prizes valued at $25,000 each:

Earthworld: An 18kt solid gold Talisman with twelve diamonds and twelve other precious stones representing the signs of the Zodiac.

Fireworld: A platinum and gold Chalice decorated with jewels such as pearls, rubies, and sapphires

Waterworld: A gold Crown trimmed with valuable gems.

Airworld: The Philosopher’s Stone, which was a large piece of white jade encased in a jewel encrusted 18kt gold box. – Read the rest of the article here from Classic Gamer Magazine (courtesy of Old School Gamer)!

Be sure to sign up to get Old School Gamer
Magazine Digitally
for free by clicking here!




Magazine Writer Magazine Writer (0 Posts)

This is the general profile for any writers not currently writing for Old School Gamer, or any of the other retro gaming magazines that we don't have a profile for 🙂