Welcome to Bleeps On Wax, where we look at a variety of Video Game Soundtracks released on vinyl!

Bushiden Soundtrack

Garoad is back at it with another fantastic game soundtrack. This time, Garoad lends his talents to Bushiden, a soon-to-be-released ninja action platformer that invokes memories of Ninja Gaiden, Shinobi, and VICE: Project Doom. For those unfamiliar with Garoad, one of his most prominent pieces of work was the VA-11 HALL-A Soundtrack, providing virtual bartenders a kick-ass slew of energetic tunes while they attempted to mix drinks and change lives.

Black Screen Records decided to release only 100 copies of the soundtrack on vinyl, as later batches of the soundtrack will coincide with the game’s actual release date. I just happened to be in the right place and at the right time to secure an order of the record, as it was shortly sold out after I placed my order. The three-record vinyl release comes in a purple-ish marble color and has a trifold sleeve with tremendous art featuring the main character of the Bushiden saga. The vinyl pressing itself is high quality, with evenly mastered tracks for the vinyl format.

For anyone who enjoyed the VA-11 HALL-A soundtrack, Bushiden’s soundtrack is an instant must-have. While Garoad does focus some of the tracks towards a more traditional Japanese Ninja/Samurai sound that you would find in an equivalent genre film soundtrack, the sound is still very much Garoad. Garoad’s signature energy is all there with charging baselines, terrific piano licks, and uplifting energy,

Check out this preview of the tune used in the stage select screen to get a great example of how energetic Garoad’s music is. For anyone who listened to the VA-11 HALL-A soundtrack, I don’t think you’d disagree with me if I said this would feel right at home in the jukebox of the bar in the game.

Those looking to get a copy of the soundtrack will have to wait until they are back in stock at Black Screen Records, but when they are, you can get them at the following link:



Your sister has vanished, and rumors swirl that Gaoh has been resurrected with an evil army at his command. Explore for cybernetic upgrades until you are powerful enough to defeat the diabolic Gaoh and his cybergenetic army once and for all in this futuristic action platformer!

Wishlist the game on Steam now: 



A01 Heart of Steel

A02 Light and Dark

A03 The Storm Approaches

A04 Steel Ruins (Prologue)

A05 Specters of the Past

A06 Spirit of Dragon

B01 Stage Select

B02 The Wicked City (Act I)

B03 The Wicked City (Act II)

B04 The Sacred Forest (Act I)

B05 The Sacred Forest (Act II)

C01 Might of the Terra (Act I)

C02 Might of the Terra (Act II)

C03 One Must Fall

C04 Alley Shop

D01 Respite and Reflection

D02 Sinister Science (Act I)

D03 Sinister Science (Act II)

D04 Lost to Time (Act I)

D05 Lost to Time (Act II)

E01 Waterworks (Act I)

E02 Waterworks (Act II)

E03 Fire in the Sky

E04 Will the Light Perish?

F01 Cut Through Heaven (Koi)

F02 Cut Through Heaven (Dragon)

F03 Shadow of the World

F04 Shimmering Light

F05 The Path to Tomorrow

F06 Light and Dark (Instrumental)

Mike Mertes Mike Mertes (84 Posts)

From the moment he touched an Intellivision controller in 1985, Mike knew that he had experienced something incredible in the world of video games that would shape him for the rest of his life. From that point forward, he would make it his mission to experience video games from every console generation going forward. Eventually, he would become obsessed with magazines that wrote about the games he loved, and it would inspire him to start writing about games himself in 1998 for various local media outlets. Always looking for an opportunity to branch out, Mike eventually coded the foundation of a website that would ultimately morph into Gamer Logic Dot Net, an independent video game site that continues to cover modern and classic video game today. Additional, Mike composes music for indie games under his other alias "Unleaded Logic"